Honorary Awards 2016

John Andrews honoraries 2016

Professor John Andrews CBE FLSW

Pro Chancellor, University of South Wales

Professor John Andrews was awarded an Honorary Doctorate of Laws by the University in recognition of his contribution to the University and its predecessor institutions.

A Professor of Law, John was formerly Head of the Law department and Vice-Principal of the University of Wales Aberystwyth, and formerly Chief Executive of the Further and Higher Education Funding Councils of Wales (FEFCW & HEFCW). He is also a Fellow of the Learned Society of Wales, the country's first and only all-embracing national scholarly academy.

Jeff Banks honoraries 2016

Jeff Banks CBE FCSD

Award-winning fashion designer

Jeff Banks was awarded an Honorary Fellowship of the University in recognition of his contribution to the fashion industry and the UK and global retail sector.

Born in Ebbw Vale, Jeff co-created and went on to present BBC’s The Clothes Show from 1986 until 2000. After setting up his own business at the age of 13, he realised his passion for design after studying textiles at school.

He later opened a London fashion boutique, Clobber, before launching his own fashion label in 1969 and co-launching clothing chain Warehouse in the late 1970s.

Jeff was awarded a CBE in the Queen’s Birthday Honours in 2009 for services to fashion and charitable work.

Amanda Chessell honoraries 2016

Professor Amanda Chessell FREng CEng FBCS HonFIED

Chief Architect, IBM Software Group

Professor Amanda Chessell (known as Mandy) was awarded an Honorary Doctorate of Technology in recognition of her contribution to the computing and technology industry in the UK and globally.

Mandy has worked for IBM since 1987. She is an IBM Distinguished Engineer, Master Inventor and member of the IBM Academy of Technology. In her current role as Chief Architect for Infosphere Solutions, she designs common information integration patterns for different industries and solutions.

In 2001 she was the first woman to be awarded a Silver Medal by the Royal Academy of Engineering, and in 2006 she won the BlackBerry Best Woman in Technology - Corporate Sector award. More recently she was granted an honorary fellowship of the Institution for Engineering Designers (IED) and she was named the 2012 Everywoman Innovator of the Year.

Jonathan Crego honoraries 2016

Professor Jonathan Crego BSc (Hons) PhD MBE

Director of The Hydra Foundation 

Professor Jonathan Crego was awarded an Honorary Doctorate of Science, recognising his contribution to investigatory techniques in policing and intelligence agencies around the world.

He designed the Hydra system, an immersive training simulator used by the police, fire service and other organisations involved in incident management. The system allows users to work through learning scenarios that are focused on decision-making skills. 

Jonathan has delivered more than 350 debriefing events with expert practitioners in areas such as catastrophic disaster, child abuse and murder investigation. He was awarded an MBE in 2009 for services to policing.

Lynne Evans honoraries 2016

Lynne Evans

Director, RCT People First

Lynne Evans was awarded an Honorary Fellowship of the University in recognition of her contribution to promoting the rights and opportunities of people with learning disabilities in Rhondda Cynon Taff and across South Wales.

Born in Porth, Rhondda, Lynne started volunteering for People First as a young adult, and helped set up the Rhondda Cynon Taff branch as a way of reaching out to more people with learning disabilities in the local area.

She has worked closely with the University of South Wales as a founding member of its Teaching and Research Advisory Committee, contributing to research projects and mentoring student nurses during their work placements.

She continues to aid the Faculty of Life Sciences and Education to promote the importance of listening to people with learning disabilities.

Emyr Jones Parry honoraries 2016

Sir Emyr Jones Parry PhD FInstP

HM Ambassador to the United Nations (2003-2007); President, Learned Society of Wales

Sir Emyr Jones Parry was awarded with an Honorary Doctorate of Laws for his contribution to international governance and security. He has been President of the Learned Society of Wales since 2014.

Sir Emyr joined the Foreign & Commonwealth Office (FCO) in 1973. During a career in HM Diplomatic Service spanning 34 years, he specialised in multilateral diplomacy and in European Union affairs. He is best known for his final diplomatic posting, that of Ambassador to the United Nations in New York, where he represented the UK in the Security Council for more than 4 years (2003 – 2007). 

Previously during his diplomatic career Sir Emyr served as the UK Ambassador to NATO, the FCO Political Director,  and the Director responsible for European Union policy. Prior to taking up his career in the diplomatic service, Sir Emyr was a physicist, gaining his Bachelor’s degree and a Postgraduate Diploma in Crystallography at University College Cardiff, where he read Theoretical Physics.

Osian Roberts honoraries 2016

Osian Roberts

Technical Director, Welsh Football Trust

Osian Roberts was awarded an Honorary Fellowship of the University in recognition of his contribution to Welsh football and the education of football coaches in Wales and across the world.

Born on Anglesey, Osian received a scholarship to study and train at Furman University, United States of America. He played in the American Professional Soccer League for the New Mexico Chiles before moving back to Wales and becoming Anglesey’s Football Development Officer in 1991.

He coached Porthmadog football team before joining taking up his position as technical director of the Welsh national team. He has also coached the Wales under-16, Wales under-18 and Wales B teams, as well as helping coach the women's under-17 team.

In 2015, Osian was promoted to assistant manager of the Welsh national team.

Rhodri Talfan Davies

Rhodri Talfan Davies

Director, BBC Cymru Wales 

Rhodri Talfan Davies was awarded an Honorary Doctorate of Science in recognition of his contribution to the Welsh broadcasting industry.

The former print journalist was born in Cardiff and began his career as a sub-editor at the Western Mail, before joining the BBC as a news trainee in 1993.

In 1999, he was appointed Head of Regional and Local Programmes at BBC West in Bristol, taking charge of BBC television, online and local radio services across the region.

He was appointed Director of BBC Cymru Wales in 2011.

Eric Thomas honoraries 2016

Sir Eric Thomas MBBS MD FMedSci

Former President, Universities UK; former Vice-Chancellor, University of Bristol

Sir Eric Thomas was awarded an Honorary Doctorate of Science in recognition of his contribution to Higher Education in the UK, and medical research.

Born in Hartlepool in 1953, Eric graduated in Medicine from the University of Newcastle upon Tyne in 1976. He held junior medical training posts in Newcastle, Leicester and Sheffield between 1976 and 1987, and proceeded to obtain his MD (Doctor of Medicine) in 1987, conducting research into endometriosis.

During his career Eric has held a number of prominent national and regional positions. He has served as Diversity Champion at The Leadership Foundation for Higher Education, as a member of Universities UK's Health Committee, as Trustee and Chair for the Council for Advancement and Support of Education (Europe), and is also a Board Member of CASE. He chaired the government Taskforce into Increasing Voluntary Giving in Higher Education, which reported in 2004, and was Chair of the Worldwide Universities Network.