Honorary Fellows

The University awards Honorary Fellowships and Honorary Doctorates to distinguished individuals who have a connection with USW, South Wales, or have made an outstanding contribution to society in their chosen field.

Recent recipients include Grammy award-winning songwriter Amy Wadge, international rugby referee Nigel Owens and fashion designer Jeff Banks, to name just a few.

Honorary Fellows 2019

Ramiz Delpak honorary

Professor Ramiz Delpak

Emeritus Professor of Engineering, University of South Wales

Professor Ramiz Delpak was awarded an Honorary Fellowship of the University, in recognition of his contribution to Engineering education.

Having worked at the University for 52 years, Prof Delpak has a breadth of experience in the Civil Engineering sector. His research activities include supervising and examining PhD, MPhil and MSc students, examining PhD, MPhil and MSc students, helping bring in more than £600,000 of research funding to USW, refereeing international journal papers and serving as an invited member of international Conferences Scientific Committee.

Prof Delpak is a Chartered Engineer and Mathematician, and a Fellow of The Institution of Structural Engineers, The Institution of Civil Engineers and Institute of Mathematics and Its Applications. He has been the recipient of six technical prizes since the 1990s.

Jayne Ludlow MBE honorary

Jayne Ludlow MBE

Wales Women's Football Manager

Jayne Ludlow was awarded an Honorary Fellowship of the University, in recognition of her contribution to Welsh Women's Football.

After guiding Wales to the brink of qualification for the 2019 World Cup in France, Jayne was awarded an MBE for services to women's football in Wales in the Queen's Birthday Honours in June this year.

She won the first of 61 Wales caps aged 17 in 1996, and was an integral member of the Arsenal side that won a domestic triple of Premier League, FA Cup and League Cup in 2001.

In 2007 she helped Arsenal win an unprecedented quadruple of the UEFA Champions League, Premier League, FA Cup and League Cup.

Haydn Warman honorary

Haydn Warman

Former Chairman, Monmouthshire Building Society

Haydn Warman was awarded an Honorary Fellowship by the University in recognition of his contribution to the financial sector in Wales, and his commitment to USW as a member of the board of governors.

Haydn studied at Aberystwyth University before qualifying as a solicitor. He then became a partner in a private practice before joining the legal division of the Welsh Office.

He subsequently became a senior executive with Principality Building Society. During that period he was also a member of the Building Societies Association Legal Panel. Having joined the board of directors at Monmouthshire Building Society as a non-executive director in 2010, he became vice chairman in 2012. He has over 29 years’ senior management and board experience in the building society sector.