Exceptional health and social care students celebrated at awards event

WinnersGroup2_Health 2014

Health and social care students at the University of South Wales have been recognised for their outstanding achievements at a special awards ceremony.

The Nursing, Midwifery and Chiropractic students were praised for their high standard of care, determination, enthusiasm and professionalism they have shown throughout their studies and during their work-based placements.

Every year, staff at the University receive letters of commendation about a number of students, from community professionals, patients, medical staff and the general public.

Their achievements were recognised at the celebratory event, which was hosted by Dr Linda Evans, Acting Deputy Dean of the Faculty of Life Sciences and Education at the University. Helen Whyley, from the Office of Dr Jean White, Chief Nursing for Wales, attended the event while Christine Chapman, AM for the Cynon Valley, presented the awards to the students.

Dr Linda Evans said: “Today’s event is an opportunity to congratulate those who have been commended for their exemplary attitude towards their work and their exceptional care for their patients. We are proud to have trained such professional and caring individuals.”

Helen Whyley added: “All these students have made a difference in very inspirational ways, and I am very pleased to hear of such great achievements. They have all demonstrated high standards and should be very proud of themselves.”

The following students were presented with certificates of recognition: Aimee Smith, Anna Xiangai Tian, Bethan Hughes, Bianca Zietsman, Ceri Ann Jones, Charlene Armstrong, Charlotte Rich, Claire Harries, Claire Marshall, Claire Westcott, David Taylor, Eleanor Tizzard, Emma Parker, Erica Sell, Grace Parry, Hannah Emanuel, Jane Davies, Jessica Le Huray, Kate Pottle, Kelly O’Shea, Kirsty Middleton, Lauren Cross, Lauren Taylor, Lisa Hourd, Louise Ackland, Manon Gravell, Michelle Owens, Molly Westlake, Natashia Lewis, Nia Evans, Rachael Millard, Rebecca Jenkins, Rebecca Shaw and Helen Price.

Representatives from Cwm Taf University Health Board and Aneurin Bevan University Health Board also attended the event.

#science #alumni #awardwinning #chiro #FutureAlum