USW trio become LSW Fellows

Professor Julie Lydon

Professor Julie Lydon

The University of South Wales (USW) Vice Chancellor and two academics have been accepted as Fellows of the Learned Society of Wales (LSW).

Professor Julie Lydon, Emeritus Professor Meic Stephens and Professor of English Literature Diana Wallace are among the 46 new Fellows - spanning the arts, sciences and public service sectors – to be elected to the Society’s Fellowship. 

The Society now has more than 420 Fellows, distinguished men and women from all branches of learning who are prominent figures within their respective academic disciplines or professions. 

By bringing together the most successful and talented fellows connected with Wales, this range of expertise enables the LSW to contribute to the shared purpose and common good of advancing and promoting excellence in all scholarly disciplines including providing independent and expert advice to Government. This year, the Society also elected for the first time two Honorary Fellows.

Election to Fellowship is a public recognition of academic excellence, and LSW Fellowship is keenly competed. Fellows are elected following a rigorous examination of their achievements in their relevant fields.  Fellows assist the Society in its work by serving on its various committees and working groups and by representing us nationally and internationally.

Sir Emyr Jones Parry, the Society’s President, said:  “I am delighted to welcome such a wide range of outstanding individuals to the Fellowship this year. Each new Fellow is elected on the distinguished merit of their work. These new Fellows will help strengthen our capacity to support excellence across all areas of academic and public life, both in Wales and abroad.

"It is also encouraging that the proportion of female Fellows elected (26%) represents the Society’s continuing efforts to improve the representation of women amongst the Fellowship. More women are reaching the highest levels of their discipline, and this is rightly being reflected in their election to the Fellowship of the Society.”

Election to Fellowship of the Learned Society of Wales is through a rigorous five-stage election process.

Fellowship is open to men and women of all ages and from all ethnic groups: who have a demonstrable record of excellence and achievement in any of the academic disciplines or who, being members of the professions, the arts, industry, commerce or public service, have made a distinguished contribution to the world of learning; and who are resident in Wales, or who are persons of Welsh birth but are resident elsewhere, or who otherwise demonstrate a particular connection with Wales.

Several new Fellows are notable not only for their individual successes, but also as inspirational figures for future generations in Welsh society.

The 2016 Election is the sixth in a rolling process towards the building of a strong, representative Fellowship.  The Society’s continuing focus on excellence and achievement will ensure that the Fellowship represents the very best in the major academic disciplines.