University of South Wales cleans up at prestigious TV awards

RTS awards 2019 Conor Law Twigg

The Royal Television Society Cymru Awards ceremony took place last night (6th February). The University of South Wales dominated the event with the majority of winners:


‘Dogs in the Apocalypse’ (Eirian Davies, Benjamin Borrow, and Kevin Macleod)

Entertainment & Comedy

‘Keith Barry John’ (Angus Martin, Yat Fung Leung, Jessica Hayes)

Angus Martin


‘Faruq’ (Preston Kevan, Ben Warman, Paige Bickham and Holly Thomas)

Preston Kevan, Ben Warman, Paige Bickham and Holly Thomas


‘Mathew vs Pritchard’ (Jake Hardy-Behrendt, Ethan Brooks, Vratislav Karas and Marketa Janouskova)

Craft Skills Awards

The jury decided to make four awards in the craft categories:


‘A Table For’ (Kerby NG)

RTS awards 2019 Kerby NG


‘Mathew vs Pritchard’ (Vratislav Karas)

RTS awards 2019 Vratislav Karas

Production Design

‘A Table For’ (Kerby NG)


‘Maggie’s Farm’ (Connor Law Twigg)

Conor Law Twigg 

Ellis Clark and Sian Thomas from ITV Cymru Wales were recognised in the Newcomer Award and the Industry Breakthrough award respectively.

Tom Ware, Director in Production and Performance said, “Everyone at Film & TV School Wales is very proud to see the excellent work of our students and recent graduates celebrated in this year’s RTS Cymru Awards. Coming after the news of so many FCI alumni cited in this year’s Oscar nominations, it is further proof of the richness and depth of talent we are lucky to foster here in University of South Wales.”

The awards ceremony took place at the University of South Wales, hosted by Capital FM presenters, Matt Lissack and Polly James.



#film #film and visual effects #television