New flood alert issued

Flood warning sign - Getty


Natural Resources Wales (NRW) has issued a new flood alert for the River Taff.

NRW has reported that at 11am this morning (Monday 24 February), the river levels at Pontypridd, Upper Boat, Merthyr Tydfil, Troedyrhiw, Tongwynlais and Cardiff (Western Avenue) are rising. New flooding is therefore possible in parts of South Wales.

Whilst it is unlikely that this will impact our sites in Treforest and Glyntaff, we are mindful that this may impact local communities.

Your safety is of paramount importance to us – please take care when leaving work or lectures today, and travelling in tomorrow.

If your travel is affected, please speak to your lecturer or line manager to discuss the options available to you.

If you are concerned about the impact on assessments, please contact the Advice Zone for advice on Extenuating Circumstances.


Flooding help and advice

Floodline: 0345 988 1188 (24 hour helpline) 

Natural Resources Wales: https://naturalresources.wales/ (Sign up for flood warnings here)  

You can sign up for flood warnings here, and find more advice on what to do before, during and after a flood.


Weather updates 

Met Office: https://www.metoffice.gov.uk/ 


Traffic updates 

Traffic Wales: https://traffic.wales/ 

Transport for Wales: https://tfwrail.wales/homepage


Emergency services 

In an emergency, call 999 

South Wales Fire & Rescue Service: https://www.southwales-fire.gov.uk/ or call 01443 232000 

South Wales Police: https://www.south-wales.police.uk/ or call 101 

Gwent Police: https://www.gwent.police.uk/ or call 101 


Local councils 

Rhondda Cynon Taf: https://www.rctcbc.gov.uk/  

Cardiff: https://www.cardiff.gov.uk/  

Newport: http://www.newport.gov.uk/