Our history

The University of South Wales was formed in 2013 by the merger of the University of Glamorgan and the University of Wales, Newport.

Both the institutions that have come together to create the University of South Wales have a rich and varied history, and can each trace their roots back more than 100 years.

Caerleon College

Old Image of Caerleon College

Monmouthshire School of MinesĀ 

School of Mines Treforest

Key events in the history of both institutions

You can also download the timeline as a PDF.

University Timeline